Daily Prompt: Happy Happy Joy Joy

We cry for lots of reasons: sadness, pain, fear . . . and happiness. When was the last time you shed tears of joy?

It would seem that my tear ducts are connected to my laughter. And me being one who can end up laughing even without a reason, tears of joy roll down my cheeks quite often. The memory of this happening last time is ingrained so clearly in my brain, it’s unlikely that I shall ever forget this particular episode.

I’m your regular college going student. And so, of course keeping with the norm and everything, I spent most of the night speaking on the phone even though I had college the next day. Considering that I have to wake up at the ungodly hour of 5.30 in the morning to make it to my first lecture at 8, that wasn’t a good idea. I barely managed to get a measly two hours of sleep. However I did get up and go to college. Here’s the thing though. Sleep deprivation gets me high. Really high. Really really high. Why? I really don’t know…

And so it starts. Because I’m sleep deprived, everything is funny. (Even though it’s actually not.) Throughout the day, all it took was just one glance at my friend to set me off. And I don’t have the slightest idea why. I would look at her and burst out laughing. It’s a miracle I didn’t get thrown out of lectures that day. This continued the entire day, the short bursts of laughter. The climax however takes to a whole other level.

Classes were over and we were leaving to go home. We were at the gate. Another glance at her and this time the laughter came but refused to go away. It was utter madness. I kept on laughing and along with that kept chanting that I couldn’t stop laughing, all the while clutching my aching stomach and bending over, gasping and laughing at the same time. Tears slowly started rolling down my cheeks but I still couldn’t stop. I really don’t want to know what the people around would have thought of me. And the best part I had no idea why I was laughing. I was laughing for no reason! And it doesn’t even end here. My friends and I take the train to go back home. Not only did I keep singing or repeating in a tune rather, ‘I’m so hot ‘ I even did a jig to go along with it. At the station. I did this at the station, laughing all the while, tears in my eyes while my friends walked behind me and pretended that they didn’t know this raving lunatic. Ah, bless them!

But I was so far-gone at that point I didn’t care about who was looking at me or if I was being judged. I wouldn’t be caught dead doing that otherwise. But I wish everyday could be day like that. My happiness was so palpable that day, it’s like I can still feel it throbbing in me. We don’t realize but very often it’s small incidences such as this, which make for the best memories and some of the best times of our lives.

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Happy Happy Joy Joy

  1. Pingback: I Have A Kneed To Cry | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Happy Happy Joy Joy | Joe's Musings

  3. Pingback: The Shape Of Things To Come – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

